MORGAN COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

Obtaining a Pistol Permit in Morgan County

Permit Application

You may download a Pistol Permit application here. Bring this form with you to the Morgan County Sheriff's Office at 119 Lee St. Decatur, AL.

Permit Prices

You may purchase a pistol permit at the MCSO on the 2nd floor. You can buy your permit for up to 5 years.

  • 1 Year      $20
  • 2 Years    $40
  • 3 Years    $60
  • 4 Years    $80
  • 5 Years    $100


Concealed Weapon Permit / Open Carry

 

 

These states recognize Alabama permits:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri,

New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Wyoming

 

Alabama honors all other states permit/licenses

 

Possession of firearms in certain places--

In addition to any other place limited or prohibited by state & federal law, a person with or without a permit-may not knowingly possess or carry a

firearm in any of the following places with out the permission of a person or entity with authority over the premises:

 

 *inside the building of a police, sheriff, or highway patrol station

 

 *inside or on the premises of a prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility or other detention facility for those who have been

  charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense

 

 *inside or on the premises of a facility which provides inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental or emotional disorders

 

  *inside a courthouse, courthouse annex, a building in which a District Attorney's office is located or a building in which a county commission or

   city council is currently having a meeting

 

  *inside any facility hosting an athletic event not related to or involving firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of post-secondary education

 

  *inside any facility hosting a professional athletic event not related to or involving firearms

 

  *locations where concealed carry is prohibited must post a notice at the public entrances alerting those entering that possession of firearms are prohibited

 

***If your under 21 and traveling to another state, they may/may not honor your permit so you would need to follow their states rules & regulations.

 

***A person legally permitted to possess a pistol but who does not possess a valid concealed weapon permit, may possess an unloaded pistol in

 his/her vehicle if the pistol is locked in a compartment or container that is in or affixed securely to the vehicle and out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the vehicle.

 

***If you are in a place not specifically mentioned in the law that is posted and they ask you to leave, you must leave. If you refuse to leave then you are breaking the law and can be charged.

 

 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION , PLEASE CONTACT THE ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE @ 334-242-7401 OR CHECK OUT THESE WEBSITES: www.ago.state.al.us , handgunlaw.us and alabamaopencarry.com